top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureZofia Rogers

ZOFIA's BLOG

Thought about starting this blog just to be super honest about life and share what I’m up to!


So what better place to start than graduating Uni...


Graduating university is a daunting step into the unknown, add graduating during the pandemic to the mix and you have a time in my life where I definitely felt confused. For your whole childhood in education there is always a next step; GCSE’s, A-Levels, Degree. And then suddenly you graduate and there isn’t an obvious step to follow. For the first proper time in your whole life you have to actually make a decision about which path to go down.




I remember finishing my dissertation in early May of 2021. I wanted to make sure I’d finished all Uni work before my 21st in mid-May. So I finished my dissertation and basically realised that I wanted to work in radio, music or the media but had very little idea of how to get to where I wanted to be!


One thing I did know for certain is that I wanted to move to London, so to save money for a bit I got a part-time job waitressing. During this time I felt so lost.


When you imagine graduating uni as a child, you envision getting an amazing career straight away and knowing exactly what you want to do. It’s safe to say that working in a minimum wage job and hating almost every second of it was not really how I imagined grad life!


I’m so glad I worked this job as I now have a huge respect for everyone who works in hospitality and I can safely say it’s the most stressful job I’ve ever worked (I cried on my way home after pretty much every shift). Every single hour that I wasn’t waitressing, I was applying for jobs.


I applied for probably close to 100 roles, anything that was even loosely media related. I networked with recruiters. I tried everything! This went on for MONTHS AND MONTHS, all the while I was gradually struggling more to get myself to my waitressing job everyday. There were times where I honestly thought I would never find anything.


I finally broke down and quit my waitressing job, the late nights and stress of the job was exhausting me. Looking back, I wish I quit this job earlier so I could’ve focussed all my energy on finding a media role, but that’s hindsight!


One random Tuesday, I received a phone call from a recruiter saying his ‘TV Company’ client were looking for an admin assistant. I jumped at the opportunity and was booked in for an interview, then next day I found out I’d got the role working for ITV! It felt like a huge weight lifted off my shoulder as I’d finally bagged my first media role. I worked for ITV for a few months, then moved to BBC to be a resourcing advisor, while freelance DJing and presenting. I am now looking for my next steps to see where my career will take me.


What I’m trying to highlight is that I wish I had realised I wouldn’t walk out of Uni into a ‘dream’ job, I’ve been a graduate nearly a year now and am still working out what my next move will be and where I will go. Will I become a full time DJ? Will I present for the station I would love to work for? Will I work for a music label? I have absolutely no clue!


I also want to go back to how many ‘no’s’ and rejections I went through before finding anything. It took months of graft and it makes you want to give up, I cried permanently! But something is out there and any step in the right direction is an achievement, even if you don't get to your end goal right away!


Zof x




Podcast Links

Quickly want to link some podcasts that have helped me through what has been a really tough year and have given me clarity, confidence and self-belief on this journey:


Diary of a CEO: Mel Robbins: This one hack will unlock your happier life https://open.spotify.com/episode/6iM4XnnU4WrLpC6PNgDtHN?si=9Yfzamh-TTmFdAJgJqUpEw



Call her Daddy: To those feeling lost in their 20’s https://open.spotify.com/episode/5OZEvC4mOoSQWgE2CDJ4Ie?si=369982031af04e0b


The Self Love Fix



Changes with Annie Mac


49 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page